City Council

The City Council, Eugene's legislative body, has eight members and is responsible for passing laws, setting community goals, adopting policy and deciding which services the City will provide. Councilors are elected on a nonpartisan ballot for four-year terms. One councilor is elected from each of eight wards with one-half of the council elected every two years. Who represents you? Click for Ward Map


The mayor serves as the City's political head and chairperson of the council. She is elected by the City at large on a nonpartisan ballot for a four-year term. The mayor is the formal representative of the City. She presides over City Council meetings but has no vote except in the case of a tie.



Time and Location

City Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 7:30 pm in Harris Hall, 125 East 8th Avenue, Public Service Building.

Public Hearings

City Council public hearings on specific issues are generally scheduled on the third Monday of each month at 7:30 pm.

Work Sessions

City Council work sessions are conducted before each Monday evening meeting at 5:30 pm in Harris Hall at the Public Service Building and at noon on the second, third, fourth and fifth Wednesday of each month.

Special Meetings

Special meetings may be called by the mayor, provided that the public is given 24 hour notice.

All council meetings are open to the public, except for executive sessions.

Each member was elected by vote

Eugene's Council Members

Mayor Lucy Vinus
01/2017 - 01/2021

Alan Zelenka, Ward 3
01/2015 - 01/2019

Greg Evans, Ward 6
07/2015 - 01/2019

Emily Semple, Ward 1
01/2017 - 01/2021

George Poling, Ward 4
01/2015 - 01/2019

Claire Syrett, Ward 7
01/2017- 01/2021

Betty Taylor, Ward 2
01/2017 - 01/2021

Mike Clark, Ward 5
01/2015 - 01/2019

Chris Pryor, Ward 8
01/2017 - 01/2021